Posted on

Major changes to Lightroom in 7.3 – Some important Notes about my Products

Adobe has just released a major new version of Lightroom that includes some significant changes. The biggest and most notable one is the inclusion of new Raw and “Creative” profiles. However, there are also some major changes under the hood. Specifically, they have changed the file format that presets use. If you have any of my guides or presets, you may be wondering what happens.

If you are upgrading and already have presets installed, Lightroom will upgrade the presets for you when you first launch Lightroom 7.3. However, this only happens once. So if you have my presets installed before the upgrade, they should be upgraded without any problems.

However if you try to install my presets after the upgrade using the old instructions, nothing will happen, and they won’t appear. This is because they will need to be upgraded, or newer versions will need to be installed.

I will endeavour to release upgraded versions as soon as physically possible. In the meantime here is, however, a temporary workaround. If you choose to import presets from the + menu at top of the presets panel in Lightroom Classic and select the presets, they will be upgraded as you import. This may take a few minutes. The downside to this is that you can’t select a folder, and they will go to your User Presets folder inside the develop module.

I have been blindsided by this, as Adobe only told a select few developers in advance of today’s release. I’m sure this will cause confusion, so I apologise to anyone who is having difficulty. I will endeavour to upgrade everything as soon as possible, but as I have a lot, I need to take the time to make sure it gets done properly.

I’ll have another post on my main blog shortly about some of the other changes in Lightroom, and what it means, so stay tuned.

See this help centre article for a step by step guide for installing older presets.